Watchful eyes, thoughtful mind

Earth and us ….. past, present and future ….. connected?

Vedic mathematics ….. for dummies? March 10, 2009

Filed under: ancient knowledge,india,mathematics — Radiance @ 8:45 AM
Vedic Mathematics is a system of Mathematics demonstrated in the ancient Indian texts called the Ved (or more popularly known as their Anglicised plural form, the Vedas). According to the website of Vedic Mathematics Academy,
“ ... all of mathematics is based on sixteen Sutras, or word-formulae.
(Sanskrit word ‘sutra’ means formula.) The website also goes on to describe the ease which the Vedic mathematics affords in doing difficult calculations.
 “In the Vedic system ‘difficult’ problems or huge sums can often be solved immediately by the Vedic method. These striking and beautiful methods are just a part of a complete system of mathematics which is far more systematic than the modern ‘system’. Vedic Mathematics manifests the coherent and unified structure of mathematics and the methods are complementary, direct and easy. The simplicity of Vedic Mathematics means that calculations can be carried out mentally (though the methods can also be written down).
The tutorials on the website give examples of simple applications of the sutras, to give a feel for how the Vedic Maths system works. Some great examples of how the maths is made easy are also shown in few of the videos I found on YouTube. One video shows how one can use simple straight lines to multiply two big numbers without knowing the multiplication tables. Another one shows how to square big numbers in your head using simple observation of number patterns. This video sort of implies that Taoist maths is derived from Vedic. The same person also demonstrates how to divide a long number by a small one quickly. There are many such videos that come up but I just wanted to share a few to show you the easiness of Vedic maths. I would like to end this blog entry by once again sharing a few words from the Vedic Mathematics Academy website.
Interest in the Vedic system is growing in education where mathematics teachers are looking for something better and finding the Vedic system is the answer. Research is being carried out in many areas including the effects of learning Vedic Maths on children; developing new, powerful but easy applications of the Vedic Sutras in geometry, calculus, computing etc. But the real beauty and effectiveness of Vedic Mathematics cannot be fully appreciated without actually practising the system. One can then see that it is perhaps the most refined and efficient mathematical system possible.
 

12 Responses to “Vedic mathematics ….. for dummies?”

  1. mez_G Says:

    I wasn’t aware that there was a decimal-based Hindustani number system…
    Ever use an abacus? There’s complex method reduced to simplicity itself for multiplying..
    I looked at the multiplication sutras, and they are based on a decimal, position-dependent symbols, which I believe are comparatively modern, and based on the Arabic scholars after Muhammad

  2. subbu Says:

    Nice article. visit http://vedicmaths-vsr.blogspot.com to get free video tutorials for vedic mathematics on different topics.

  3. Buy Articles Says:

    I appreciate you for posting such a informative site. Your blog was not only informative but also very creative too. We find only few experts who can think to create technical stuff that creatively. A lot of people are on the lookout for information about something like this. I Myself have gone in detail through several blogs to acquire information regarding this. Keep up the good work !!

  4. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in publishing this article. I am going for the same best work from you in the future as well. In fact your imaginative writing abilities has inspired me to start my own blog now. Really the blogging is distributing its wings rapidly. Your write up is a fine representative of it.

  5. bandsxbands Says:

    Seeing these kind of posts reminds me of just how technology truly is everywhere in this day and age, and I am 99% certain that we have passed the point of no return in our relationship with technology.I don’t mean this in a bad way, of course! Ethical concerns aside… I just hope that as the price of memory decreases, the possibility of copying our memories onto a digital medium becomes a true reality. It’s one of the things I really wish I could encounter in my lifetime.(Submitted from NetPost for R4i Nintendo DS.)

  6. Sweet, finally a post that fulfills my research. So many people get this topic wrong. You are a great thinker.

  7. Wow! Thank you! I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?

  8. You certainly have some agreeable opinions and views. Your blog provides a fresh look at the subject.

  9. Awesome Post. I add this Post to my bookmarks.

  10. buy vemma Says:

    Thank You For This Blog, was added to my bookmarks.

  11. You certainly have some agreeable opinions and views. Your blog provides a fresh look at the subject.

  12. I just sent this post to a bunch of my friends as I agree with most of what you’re saying here and the way you’ve presented it is awesome.


Leave a Reply

